Capturing Creativity in a Bottle

I’ve had terrible writer’s block this week. There’s nothing like seeing that little cursor pop up every second, which strangely, I’ve never really noticed before. The most frustrating thing is that I’m constantly searching for potential new blog posts and when I find them, I seem to forget to make note of them. Perhaps it’s because my epiphanies come just as I’m about to fall asleep. In fact, I’ll already start writing the story in my head. And I always adamantly promise myself that yes, I will, most certainly, remember it in the morning. But no. I don’t. Here I am this morning, searching for what it was that I thought was so poignant last night that now leaves me blank. I guess what I’m striving for is a way to capture my creativity; to not let it escape. Ideas in themselves are unique and they never come back quite the same…just like people.
I know the obvious thing is to write your ideas down as soon as you think of them, but really, it’s a little ridiculous to expect me to get out of my bed at 12:30 a.m. to jot a note down in the dark. I’m still not sure that it would make sense in the morning. What to do? I suppose I will have to keep fighting to remember. Maybe I will leave a notepad by my bed and see if any good comes out of it. After all, it doesn’t hurt to try.
With that being said, I would love to hear what you have to say. Let me know if there’s something you like, something you don’t like, or something that you want to explore in further detail regarding the contents of this blog. That is what I love about happiness; there are endless approaches to it and endless things to say about it. Our founding fathers entrenched the idea in our nation before we were ever born: to pursue happiness.
May we continue to pursue our own happiness, even if we can’t always think of something to say about it.
Keep shining,
The Sunny Girl, Lauren Cook
This entry was posted in My Sunny Side. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Capturing Creativity in a Bottle

  1. Marila Cook says:

    1. I would like to hear more about the “science” of happiness, what can we do to maintain the proper chemistry of our brain.
    2. I would like to have some practical tips on health and how it relates to happiness.
    3. I would like to hear more about the power of our thoughts and how what we think will manifest itself.
    4. I would like to hear more about the “law of attraction”…our thoughts are like magnets…we attract what we think. If we think happiness, we will attract more of the same.

  2. thesunnygirl says:

    My 5 Daily Gratitudes:

    1. Late night laughs: My roommates get me bursting at the seams. I love it when it feels like a sleepover.
    2. Yoga with Abbie: In our room with the twinkle lights on. You can do yoga anywhere!
    3. Singing in the car: My favorite part about driving to LA
    4. Daily Bruin interview: The Odyssey newspaper is making progress!
    5. Annie Hall: I really liked this movie; Diane Keaton is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

