The Game of Life

Dating is such a tug-of-war. Guys love the chase, but girls tend to run right toward the target. So what does one do? And how are we able to remotely find happiness in a haphazard dating world? Surprisingly, just like in high school, there is still no privacy in college. The same social circles circle around each other and personal business becomes everyone’s business it seems. As I write this morning, I’ve realized how pivotal our personal relationships are; they are the epitome of just about every girl’s conversation and we know (even though you guys won’t admit) that something crosses your mind at least every 15 seconds. Need I say more?
I keep hearing about disappointments when it comes to dating. Why can’t people just say it like it is? But alas, we liked to play monopoly when we were little and we still like to play games as adults. Unfortunately the most popular game these days seems to be “Sorry.” I have to admit, that’s one of my biggest fears. Getting that “sorry” card pulled out just when I’m right about to get in the safe zone. (Although these days I feel like I’ve reached Home Base in case you were curious). But just like with any game, we can laugh and enjoy the process even if we end up ultimately losing.
So I encourage you to get your pawn out and play away. Your battleship may get sunk but you could also end up owning the Boardwalk. It’s not necessarily about winning; it’s learning to play by the rules. So that means no cheating! Good luck at the game of life!
Keep shining,
The Sunny Girl, Lauren Cook
This entry was posted in Happiness for Your Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Game of Life

  1. Miranda Freeman says:

    Lauren you are a brilliant writer 🙂

  2. thesunnygirl says:

    My 5 Daily Gratitudes:

    1. UCLA dynamic: Even though it’s such an expansive campus, it’s amazing how many friends you run into on a given day. It’s one of my favorite parts about going here.

    2. Upcoming spa day: I’m so excited to go with Kelly to get massages!

    3. Warm oatmeal: I don’t care if I ate it at 4:00 in the afternoon. It was freezing outside!

    4. Monday night dinners: I love getting to see my sisters at least once a week to coalesce.

    5. Study session: Always better when alongside a study buddy.

Leave a Reply

